Archaeology v. Museum Studies

As a follow up to my last post, I want to say that I never did figure out how to make a toga. I bought one instead (and a Roman military uniform) which was much easier and much nicer than anything I could have done. So naturally, when I had gotten the outfits I couldn’t get them to do what I wanted to. I just wanted my character to wear the clothes, and have the clothes actually fit to his body. I spent a long time trying to move the clothes in such a way that they would look as though they were fitting on the figure, and couldn’t get it to work. Finally I found out that if I just click “conform to” in the drop-down menu, I can get it to automatically conform to my figure, and I don’t have to do any more work. Really super easy. Just took me at least an hour to figure it out.

(current music: from Dr. Horrible’s sing-along blog)

This happens a lot actually. I struggle with something in Poser, and then once I figure it out its super easy. But it takes me forever to figure out. I had started watching some tutorials, but they weren’t helpful at all, so I stopped watching them and just went at the program hoping I’d figure it out. And I sorta am … I guess. But so I can’t figure out if I actually like Poser or not. Because in some ways it’s really nice (like it has pre-made people!! and they’re easy to move and pose!!) but it other ways it’s just awful, and I hate it. Granted, that may happen less often if I actually knew what I was doing, but I’m not that worried about it. Basically, I’ve decided that Poser is awesome as a reference for artists, and if you need to make 3d people very quickly, but I’m not sure about anything else.

(current music: Lady Gaga, Disco Heaven)

However, I’ve also been having other things to worry about besides work. I’m going to be a senior next year, which means I need to figure out what I’m doing after I graduate. I’m planning on going to grad school (if I can get in!), and I’ve decided to go for archaeology. I’m not going for Classics because I really can’t stand Greek (not the best major for me, I know, but Latin is very nice!). So I want to focus on the Maya area, because 1) it’s awesome, 2) it’s still being excavated, and 3) I like the glyphs. 

(current music: A little priest, Sweeney Todd)

So I’ve decided to go into archaeology. But now I need to figure out where I want to go. So I talked with one of my Professors, and he gave me a list of emails of people he had as students or knows somehow and told me to email them and ask them for advice. So I’m sorta working on that. But I never know what to put in the emails! I don’t want to seem too forward by asking them for advice, since I’ve never met most of the people that I’m emailing. So I’ve been thinking I’d just ask them about their program, except four of them are from the same program, so that may not be as helpful as it would be if they were at different universities.

(current music: Stranded in the Jungle, Voodoo glow skulls; Hey there Delilah, Plain White T’s)

I wrote to one person and heard back already, which was great. She’s still a student, and gave me a ton of advice. She suggested I take a year off (I’d rather not if I can help it), she talked about whether I’d need a MA before a PhD, it was very helpful. But then she asked me what my research focus was, and I kinda got worried. She asked if I was just interested in the cultures, in which case maybe a degree in Art History or Museum Studies would be best, or if I was actually interested in archaeology for archaeology’s sake. And I don’t know!!

(current music: God is a DJ, Pink)

I’ve never really thought about trying to separate the culture aspect from the archaeology aspect. I mean, I like the archaeology, and I enjoyed doing it when I was in a field school, but I do really think that I would enjoy museum studies, as well. I’ve never actually taken any anthropology courses, cause I had originally planned on going to grad school for Classics, but now that’s a problem. What if I hate the anthropology? What if I really do just want to study the ancient culture and not worry about the actual archaeology? I don’t know!! I was so glad when I finally decided to do mesoamerican archaeology instead of Classical, I felt like I had accomplished something by making that decision. But now, I don’t know anymore.

(current music: death’s diary, Marc Almond)

This is really quite distressing. Because I’m not looking at Museum studies graduate programs, I’m only looking at archaeology. And if I do then decide that maybe I should be going into museum studies instead, I need to start all over!! Aaah!

Well, so those are my issues right now. There’s work, which isn’t going as well as it could, and taking a lot longer than it should. And then there’s the problem with grad schools, which I really need to figure out soon. I just wish someone could tell me exactly what would be the best thing for me to do, plan it all out for me, and then I can just follow along. Wouldn’t that be nice? Figure out what I want to do, so I don’t have to think about it. If anyone can read minds and wants to plan out my future, please let me know!

Published in: on August 8, 2010 at 11:43 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/08/08/archaeology-v-museum-studies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

