To Publish or Not to Publish: A pretty stupid question

Yesterday I moved into my apartment at school (well, moved into a different one, I’ve been here since July 1). So I’ve got stuff everywhere. I was unpacking for a little while today, got the kitchen all settled and put all of my clothes away, and then I got really bored and decided to stop for the night. So instead of going to bed, which I’d like to do, I figured I would do something productive and useful.

Last semester, I did an independent study on Mayan hieroglyphs. My professor absolutely loved my paper and says it was the best I’ve ever done (not really saying much). I find that kinda confusing because I finished it at about 1:30 in the morning the night after it was officially due and I was just rushing to get everything typed so I could go to bed. But he really liked it, so that’s good. In fact, he liked it so much, that he told me I could maybe think about publishing it. It would need to be worked on a bit he said, yes, but he’d be willing to help me with that. Then he gave me a binder of papers published by past students and told me to read them.

So today, after I gave up on packing, I sat down and started reading the articles. I got about halfway through the first paragraph of the first article and then just started skimming. Way too tired to actually concentrate on anything. But I did manage to see that these papers are a lot better than mine.

Now, would it be awesome to publish a paper? Of course it would be awesome!! And it would look great when applying to grad school! Do I think I can do it? Hell, no. I can’t even imagine how much work I would have to put into that paper to get it up to publishable quality. I know how well I can write, and it’s not very well at all.

On the other hand, my professor actually liked it. So maybe it’s better than I thought. Maybe some journal will agree with him and actually like my paper. I can’t decide. Is it worthwhile to rework my whole paper and attempt to publish it? Get it out there and have people tear it to pieces, finding every little hole in my logic and argument?

Sigh. I don’t want to.

Yes, of course I want to be published. I just don’t want to have to go through the whole process. Sigh.

On another note, I really need to hang up some posters.

Published in: on August 11, 2010 at 11:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/to-publish-or-not-to-publish-a-pretty-stupid-question/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

