Headachy

I have had a headache almost every day for over a month now. I was in Belize for four weeks earlier this summer, and was totally fine there, despite being dehydrated and overheated and barely getting enough sleep. But then I got home, and I have had a headache almost every day since. It’s not really the same headache. It goes away sometimes. There are even some days when I don’t have a headache. And then there are the days that my head hurts so much that I go home after work and sleep for two or three hours, only to wake up and still have the headache. And then, because I took a nap, I can’t get to sleep at night, so I’m even more tired the next day, and my headache is worse. I haven’t seen a doctor or anything about it, because I really dislike going to doctors. It’s so far out of my way, and I’d have to take time out from when I’m usually working, which means either working less or working later, neither of which I really want to do. Also, since the headache isn’t terrible every day, I usually just deal with it. There’s only a day or two a week when it’s really unbearable, and so far I’ve only missed one day of work for it.

I’m also fairly certain I know why I’ve been getting headaches, and there are multiple reasons. First of all, I need new contacts. I have astygmatism in both eyes, but I don’t wear astygmatism contacts because they don’t come in colors. Complete stupid vanity on my part, but I want my damn colored contacts. I’m due for an appointment, and I know I need to up my prescription, because I have been having trouble seeing things in the distance. This really hit me today when I went to the library that I used to work at, and I couldn’t see down the aisles and read the signs! Just a year ago, I could read those signs, and today they were completely fuzzy and I could only read the ones closest to me. Very depressing.

I wasn’t home long enough this summer to get into the eye doctors, so I have to wait until winter break before I can go and get new contacts. Not pleased about this, but I guess there’s nothing really that I can do about it.

The second thing that I’m sure is not helping my head is the fact that I’m on my computer all day. My work is all on the computer, so I’m looking at my computer all day. And whenever I take a break, I’m using my laptop looking at stuff online. Then I get home, and I usually keep looking at stuff online, reading blogs and such, because I have nothing else to do. It’s mindless and entertaining, and keeps me busy until it’s time for bed. There’s stuff I should be doing, but I never want to. I’m supposed to be doing work for a professor, which involves editing images in photoshop, but after working all day, I’m always tired and headachy and I don’t want to have to concentrate on anything, especially not on a computer. I feel bad about not getting any work done, but I just can’t do it! I also have some things I should be reading, like a book that is required for one of my classes that I’m supposed to finish before the semester starts (it’s actually pretty good so far: Murder on the Appian Way by Steven Saylor, a Roman murder mystery). Or, I could be looking up grad schools or studying for the GRE or working on my personal statement or a million other things. Instead, I read blogs and webcomics until I can’t keep my eyes open any more, and then I go to bed.

I get a little reprieve on the weekends, because I usually go to a lake, where I don’t have computer access, but the past few weekends I haven’t even had a chance to sleep in at all, so I’m not catching up on any of the sleep that I feel like I’ve been missing.

I also drink a lot of caffeinated soda. I’ve actually cut down on how much I drink, but it’s still a lot. Last week, for example, I would have 3 or 4 cans of soda a day. And the sad thing is, when I told this to my mom, even she was like, “oh that’s not too bad,” because I used to drink 6 or 8! There have been times when I would drink about 3 liters of soda each day, so cutting down to 3 cans, really isn’t bad. But it’s still not good.

This past week, I’ve tried to cut it down even more, to just two cans a day, in the hopes of then cutting down to one and then eventually quitting caffeine altogether. But I’ve been so tired, I just can’t do it! I haven’t had soda before 11 am almost all summer, and then this past week I’d have to have some as soon as I got to work at 9, just so that I could stay awake and get to work. I’d have a headache, which couldn’t be from lack of caffeine because it was too early, but if I had some soda I would wake up and the headache would go away for a little bit. So I’d have some soda.

Do you know how much it costs to drink that much soda? A lot, I assure you. And the soda machines just increased their prices this year, I’ve noticed, so if I can’t stop drinking it I’m going to be spending even more this year than I did last year.

All the soda I drink is probably also dehydrating me, and I’m sure that’s not helping my headache situation.

Basically I think I need to get new contacts, stop drinking soda completely, drink a ton of water each day, give up my computer and take a month long vacation from life. Maybe then my headache will go away completely.

Published in: on August 20, 2010 at 9:27 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/headachy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

