Books!

One of my professors gave my class a summer reading assignment. Since I had to go buy the book, I used it as an excuse to buy a couple of other books that I wanted to read for fun. I mean, I had to get over $25 for free shipping so …

One of the books that I got for fun is by Rick Riordan. He’s the author who wrote the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I absolutely love those books. I have a penchant for young adult books, and tend to read them a lot. I used to work in my middle school library, so I got to read all of their books, and the ones that I found interesting were all young adult books. The Percy Jackson books are soo much better than the movie could ever hope to be. Yes, it’s aimed at a younger audience than many people my age really want to deal with, but it’s actually really well-writting and funny. Percy is really sarcastic (even though he’s only 11 in the first book) and the books are really enjoyable to read. And since they’re young adult, I can read them really quickly.

The best part about the Percy Jackson series, however, is that it stays true to the myths. The whole point of the series is that Percy Jackson finds out he’s the son of a Greek god, so he goes to a camp where all the other campers are also demigods, like him, and he ends up meeting most of the gods and goddesses and having to go on epic quests and have all sorts of adventures. But the details from myths are all accurate, which is AWESOME!! A book series pertaining to Classics that’s actually right? Yeah!

That was one of my biggest problems with the movie, actually. They changed the storyline to make it better for the movie, which normally I would be ok with, but they put Persephone in Hades on the summer solstice!!! No! The whole myth of Persephone is that she was kidnapped by Hades, and while she was in the Underworld she ate 6 pomegranate seeds, so she is required to spend six months of the year there. During those six months, her mother, Demeter, the goddess of agriculture, mourns for her daughter and won’t let anything grow, which is why we have winter. SHE IS NOT THERE IN THE SUMMER. Ahem.

Anyway, the new Rick Riordan book that I got is called Red Pyramid, and it’s a similar concept, but all of the myths that are used are the ancient Egyptian myths. I am soo excited about this. I always loved ancient Egypt, and since I loved the Percy Jackson series, I should enjoy this one, too.

The second book that I bought is by James Rollins, who is my favorite author. He writes action-adventure type novels, and they always have some sort of archaeological aspect to them. They’re also usually kinda weird. For instance, the last one I read, Subterranean, involved a group of people who had children by parthenogenesis, so they were all biologically the same exact person, and their cells were shaped like buckyballs, which means they could make themselves invisible. Not one of his more believable stories.

Most of his other ones are better, though. He has a series about the Sigma Force, which is a special ops team, and they’re pretty awesome. I really love his books, and I hope this new one is good.

Also, James Rollins friended me on facebook. He friended me. I’m very proud of that fact. (I became a fan of his page, and then he friended me. Still cool.)

Finally, the last book is the one required for my course. The book is A Murder on the Appian Way by Steven Saylor, and it’s surprisingly good. I was kinda worried that it would be terrible and I’d be forced to plow my way through it. It’s a murder mystery that revolves around the death of Clodius. Many people thought that Milo killed him, but Cicero defended Milo in his speech, Pro Milone, which I have to read for my Roman Oratory class (hence the summer assignment). Saylor’s book is really good, though, at least as far as I’ve gotten, and I would definately recommend it to anyone who is interested in ancient Rome. He’s got other books in the same series, and I’m kinda tempted to read those, as well.

First though, I have to finish all the new books that I have. I guess I’ll just have to wait until I have a big paper due. I’ll suddenly get the urge to read a book or clean my room or something, anything to put off the actual paper. That’s the way it always works, isn’t it?

Published in: on August 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love it when you get on your Classics geek high horse. It makes me feel a little better about getting on my Astro geek high horse 😛


Leave a Reply

