Top hats make you sexy.

At the beginning of this month, I signed up for a free trial of Netflix. My roommate and I decided that we should each get a free trial, so we can get two months free (maybe three if we can get our other roommate to agree to it, as well) before we agree to pay for it. Netflix is kinda awesome, in that they have a ton of movies, and there’s a bunch of movies that you can view online. Which leads me to my next point.

Netflix is the worst procrastination tool ever. It’s worse than Sporcle. I spend a while looking around for something to watch, and then when I’ve found a movie, I watch it. And since most of my homework requires the use of the computer, I can’t do anything while I watch the movie … it’s not a very good system.

Last week, my roomates and I watched Alice, the syfy miniseries version of Alice in Wonderland. And it was wonderful, we absolutely loved it. That may have had something to do with the fact that Hatter was SO DAMN SEXY! (And Jack was gorgeous as well!) And it wasn’t just that Hatter was facially/physically attractive, but it was also his character, who you just wanted to give him his damn hug! (If you’ve seen the series, you’ll understand what I mean.)

 you know you want him

Well, after the movie, we ended up on youtube, looking at fanvids of the characters, which led us to this (spoiler alert!!). There are a ton of those fanvids out there, but this is by far the best. And since it’s so short, we can totally watch it a million times (not that we’d do that … *coughcough).

EDIT: that video was taken down off of youtube. We all cried…

But I was thinking today about this, and browsing netflix, and I realized that there are a lot of different versions of Alice in Wonderland. I was actually surprised how many different versions there are. I can’t think of any one story that has been remade as many times, other than maybe Cinderella.

So now I’m kinda tempted to rewrite some classic story. I feel like it would be a lot harder than one would expect. Because it’s not like you can just rewrite the same storyline. It needs to have the same characters, but you can’t rely on that, you still need to have character exposition, and you need to give them their own personalities that’s unique to your own version. The storyline has to be basically the same, but still different enough to set your version apart from all the others. So it would be difficult, but I am really tempted to try. Only thing to figure out is what story I want to rewrite!

Published in: on September 18, 2010 at 8:17 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/09/18/top-hats-make-you-sexy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

