Next myth?

For my senior seminar, since we finished with the section about coins, we are now learning about Philology. So yesterday in class, we spent two and a half hours learning about the alphabet. And we all almost died.

To be fair, it wasn’t just the alphabet. We learned about how the Greek language has evolved and changed throughout history, and we learned how you can use spelling mistakes in manuscripts to learn about the ancient way of pronouncing the words. For example, is a word is spelled with an “ei”, but is often writted just with an “i”, then you know that “ei” and “i” must sound alike.

Which, in theory, is an interesting topic to learn about. But not for two and a half hours when everyone is falling asleep already, and most people in the class don’t know any Greek at all (sadly, I am not one of them).

The project for this section, is to take a poem, in Greek or Latin (mine should be Greek because I know it) and write out a translation and a commentary about it. But we get to pick any poem that we want! That’s kinda exciting, and extremely daunting. There are so many poems to choose from! How do I pick which one?

So I decided that since I like mythology and don’t really know enough of it, I would pick a particular myth, look it up to find a poem that talks about that myth, and then work on that poem. That way, I would be learning the mythology better, and I would hopefully have an interesting poem to write my commentary on.

Now which myth do I chose? I kinda want to pick one that I have vaguely heard of but really know nothing about. Unfortunately, that is a lot of myths. Since I’m going to be likely posting the results of my research on this blog, I’ve decided that if anyone wants to learn about a myth, let me know in the comments, and I can look into it! This goes for in general, as well, because I would like to put more mythology in here.

So let me know if there are any myths that you would be interested in learning about!

Published in: on October 5, 2010 at 5:02 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/next-myth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sadly I don’t know that much about Greek stuff. I was like ‘Ovid! Oh wait…’

    But that actually sounds like a really awesome fun class. Jealous!

    • Actually, Ovid was Roman, but he wrote all about Greek myths. He was basically one of the first fanfic writers in history.

  2. … so much more respect for him right not! And sadly, the only reason I thought of HIM was Benjamin Britton’s unaccompanied oboe piece for Metamorphoses. 😛


Leave a Reply

