Vacation!

It’s fall break right now, which means that we don’t have class on Monday or Tuesday. (Not for Columbus Day, I’m sure, as our school loves to make us go to class on national holidays) But every time we have a break, I always tell myself that I’ll get all my work done early, maybe even get ahead in some of my classes!  Does that happen? Of course not.

Since I got out of class on Friday, I have read one book, one story, and hundreds of pages of a webcomic (literally 4 years of it so far), and watched four episodes of Firefly, three episodes of Primeval, and two movies. And I took a nap yesterday. So far today, I have … gotten up. I just got dressed, and it’s 12:25. I am being very productive.

So what do I have to do? Well, I have a lot of readings for my seminar that I need to do, even though I don’t have that class this coming week. I have to get through 8 sections of Greek, and four sections of Latin. The Latin I’m eventually going to have to present to the class, so I need to do well on it. And I have a lot of work for a professor that I need to do. Oh, and then there’s the fact that I’m taking the GRE on Friday and should maybe think about studying for it …

I would love to be able to get ahead of all of my homework, and just keep up with it so that I stay ahead of the class, so that I can do basically nothing in November. I have every intention of trying Nanowrimo again this year, and I will need all the time I can get.

Last November, I wrote a Barbara Cartland novel. For those of you who don’t know who Barbara Cartland is … she wrote hundreds (like over 600) romance novels, that were all the same. Like, literally. The guy was a Duke/Earl/Marquis/Lord who was tall and strong and handsome and usually arrogant, and the girl was usually poor and blond and blue eyed with a heart shaped face, and she always managed to get into some sort of dire straits, and the Duke/Earl/Marquis/Lord helped her out, they fell in love and got married. The end. And unlike most romance novels today, there were no steamy sex scenes. The most they did was kiss, and if they did have sex, they were already married, and Barbara never actually wrote it out in the book. World’s most innocent romance novels ever.

They’re awful. And I love them.

So last year I wrote my own version, and made it sound as though Barbara herself had written it, if I do say so myself. I was quite proud of it, and I hit 50K words in Novemeber. Yay!

This year, however, I’m writing the story of Persephone and Hades as a romance novel, and I think it will take a lot longer to write than my little Barbara novel did. So I’d like to get ahead of my work before November, so that I have as much time as possible to write my novel, but I know it’s not going to work, and I’m going to spend all my time trying to work on it and ignoring my homework, or I’ll actually do my homework and never finish the novel. (Plan A sounds like more fun)

In any case, November will be a busy month. Until then, I’ve still got about 5 seasons of Stargate Atlantis and one and a half seasons of Primeval to watch before class on Wednesday. I am optimistic about this.

Published in: on October 10, 2010 at 12:45 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/vacation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m looking forward to THIS NANOWRIMO as well.


Leave a Reply

