And a month later …

I haven’t updated in forever. I have just been so busy lately (much of that my own fault, as I will explain later). At one point I saw the address for my blog in my drop-down menu and was like “Oh, right, I have a blog.” Because I had forgotten about it. I really need to try and not forget about things like that.

My last post was about applying to SIUC. On Thursday, I was accepted! I was soo excited, running around grinning and telling everyone that I saw. Nevermind the fact that SIUC is 4th or 5th on a list of 5 grad schools, but at least I got in somewhere. Now I know what I’m doing next year. Even if I get rejected from all the other Universities, at least I got in somewhere.

I’ve been kinda busy with school. My greek class is on Euripides’ Medea, which is actually pretty easy (except that part that I had to translate in class yesterday, naturally, and which I messed up completely). Latin is Tacitus’ Annals, which is difficult and boring as all hell. I honestly believe that the only way to find an even more boring Latin text would be to read St. Augustine’s confessions in the original Latin, because I’m pretty sure I would keel over and die in the middle of a sentence. I had to read the confessions in translation once; I was pacing the apartment while I read just to stay awake. I’m also taking another class, which I find boring, but at least it’s not terrible, and an independent study, which I really should start working on.

Of course, I would have had a lot more time on my hands if we hadn’t renewed our Netflix. Myriad is good, she’ll watch maybe an episode or two a day. I, on the other hand, managed to watch the first four seasons of Doctor Who in a week. I slowed down when I hit season 5, mainly because I don’t like it as much without David Tennant. It’s just not the same! I kinda want to start watching Torchwood now, but then I would NEVER get any work done, so I’ll have to hold off on that. Maybe I’ll watch it during spring break? I can probably finish it then …

I got an email from my sister today. Apparently her friend wants to read my story from Nanowrimo 2010. This same friend apparently wrote a biography of Nessie, which sounds a lot more fun than my novel. I still need to finish up one section, and then I’m gonna send it out to have a free proof made, a prize for winning Nanowrimo. It’s just so bad, I’m kinda afraid to have anyone read it! On the other hand, it was written in a month, so some allowances must be made. (Although I will point out that Barbara Cartland would publish two or three novels in a month … just sayin.)

I’m waiting for Myriad to come home, and it’s raining outside. It was snowing earlier, but now it’s turned to rain and it looks wretched, so I wouldn’t be surprised if she was postponing her return to avoid walking in it.

This post is really rambling, so I should probably just stop now, before it gets any worse.

Published in: on February 5, 2011 at 4:47 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/and-a-month-later/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. So THAT’S why you haven’t posted! I’ve seriously considered emailing you and being like “hey dude — some people check blogs once a day and yours isn’t making the cut” 😛

    I’ll try to get a copy of the Nessie story — I don’t know if it’s WIP or complete.

    Also, Confessions of St. Augustine is totally on like 6 gazillion great books lists. If it’s that boring, I’m not looking forward to it…


Leave a Reply

