Hi, Remember me?

Wow, so it’s been a long time since I updated, and there have been a lot of pivotal events in my life that have happened since then, so naturally I’m going to tell you none of that and skip right to the fun stuff.

This weekend is the Steampunk World’s Fair. And I’m going. And somehow I decided to make myself a steampunk jetpack to wear at the event. I finally got around to starting it today, two days before the event, because I’m totally on top of everything like that. So I figured I’d share some progress shots.

Step One: Dismantle a dehumidifier. I don’t actually have any photos of that, but I’m sure that Myriad does somewhere, and I’ll post them once she shares with me. I also dismantled a super soaker and a surge protector, but I don’t know if I’m using any of those pieces.

Step Two: Paint everything a pretty copper color.

Note: some of these pieces are from the supersoaker. Also, it turns out that the paint I chose makes a gorgeous metallic color if you paint it on something black. So naturally everything I had was white. It also helps if you’re spray painting on a day when it’s raining, because that really helps things dry faster.

Make sure to cover everything, including yourself.

It’ll come off eventually. Hopefully.

Step Three: Pet the cat.

This really has no practical application, but hey, the paint has to dry anyway, and maybe then the cat will look less angry. Flashing cameras really help that.

Now is also a good time to get dinner.

Step Four: Start gluing things together. One of the pieces that I had didn’t have a bottom, so I made a cardboard bottom and glued that on. It still needs more paint to cover the writing on the cardboard. I also glued a canning jar lid to the bottom to try and match the thing on the bottom of the other piece (this is all highly technical terms).

Step Five (am I up to five? I’ve lost count): Cut up a pair of old boots. My snow boots had laces up the front, and they’ve got these cute little leather straps with grommets to hold the laces. Being as those boots are all ripped up and I don’t use them anyway, I chopped off the laces and started gluing them to the sides of the “jetpack”.

Like such. I then laced the laces through the grommets a couple times. I have another strap that I will put around my arms like the straps of a backpack. Then I started gluing a belt on below the laces. The belt will strap around my chest (below the boobs, if you were wondering Dea/Myriad).

Now is a perfect time to run out of hot glue. Naturally I found an almost-full package of 100 glue sticks, but they don’t fit my glue gun (really, how many different sizes of “mini glue guns” are there?). So, being as it is almost midnight and I’m not about to run out to Walmart now, we’ll just leave it there, and figure out what to do with it tomorrow.

Maybe tomorrow we’ll actually make it look like a jetpack.

Published in: on May 18, 2011 at 11:41 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/hi-remember-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well played Kay. At the EXACT same time as you (2:30) I realized that I’d put the hooks into my corset wrong and had to rip it out this morning. 😛

    • I never said anything at 2:30 …

  2. Petting the cat is a vital part of any crafting endeavor.

    • Also, I have photos of you dismantling the super soaker AND the power strip, but none of the humidifier. Because I’m helpful like that.


Leave a Reply

