Dioramas!!

So I’m pretty sure that I have already mentioned at least once in this blog how much I love dioramas. Let me just say it again: I LOVE DIORAMAS. When I go to museums, the best part is looking at all the dioramas. The aerospace museum that I went to with Myriad may have been a run-down museum in need of some serious help, but they had some really cool dioramas that used forced perspective to fit the scene in. I had never seen anything like that, but it was awesome.

Anyway, I think one of the coolest jobs in the world would be making dioramas for museums. Sadly, those aren’t actually done in the museum, but they’re contracted out to special diorama-making-people. So I suppose if I applied for a job with the diorama-making-people …. hmm ….

Well, last night, I was eating dinner with my roommates (Chicken Tikka Masala, yum!), and my roommate B said that she loves the dioramas, too, and she thinks that making the dioramas would be like the coolest job evar. I was like, OMG ME TOO!! I got very excited. I was like, if only I could just make a diorama instead of writing a thesis!

“Well, actually,” said my other roommate (best thing I’ve ever heard) “there was this one class on visual anthro, and one guy made a diorama for his project. So if you get that professor on your committe, maybe she’d let you do a diorama.”

OMG HOW AWESOME WOULD THAT BE?

So I have come up with a plan. Today, I am going to Hobby Lobby with B. She actually needed to go and I said that I would come along because come on it’s HOBBY LOBBY. And when I go to Hobby Lobby today (I just really like saying Hobby Lobby), I will buy one of those diorama kits, and start teaching myself how to make the super awesome realistic looking dioramas! The way I see it, this is a skill that could be useful later on in my life, so I’m really just practicing and refining a skill, not just playing with dioramas.

So … what should I make? I think I’m going to buy the mountain building kit, which means I can learn how to make rocks! I’m holding off on the water kit until I get the basic ground skills covered. And I think the flat one would just be kinda boring. So I’m gonna make rocks! Yeah!

Published in: on August 16, 2011 at 4:10 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/dioramas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am laughing at you so hard right now…glad you’re having fun tho 🙂

    And I guess I can’t judge since I just bought a whole ton of yarn.

  2. you’re not reading my wedding stuff :-((((((((((((( 😛 if you haven’t figured it out by now, you’re my censor determining if stuff is legit. i’m also super bored right now, which is why i keep poking at the planning. (i just felt a drop on my wrist… inside my house. wtf?)

  3. http://isabelleathome.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/jennys-delicious-chicken-salad/

    looks like your kind of chicken salad


Leave a Reply

