Decisions, decisions

So, I have a bit of a decision to make. Well, I say a bit, but really it’s kinda big. And important. And I’m not sure what to do. So I need some advice. I figure if I just go through the pros and the cons, Myriad will ignore them all and tell me to come visit her. Why? Well, let me explain.

This November, in Madison, WI, will be the second annual TESLACON!! Super exciting, yes I know! Another lovely wonderful steampunk convention. This one is “set” aboard a submarine, and so I think everything is underwater themed. Last year was on an airship, and next year is Steampunk on the Moon!!! Whoo! The convention will be November 18-20, and I’m still trying to figure out whether or not I should go.

So here are the details:

The event is Friday-Saturday-Sunday. There is no schedule online yet, so I have no way of knowing when any of the events are. Now, I’m a bit of a ways from Madison, but I can take a bus/train combo there. IF IF I decide to go, I would need to figure out what days I want to be there. Either I can skip work on Friday and head out on Friday, meaning that I would get there in time to do things on Friday evening (possibly) and then be able to be there first thing Saturday morning, or I can skip a class on Thursday and work on Friday, head out on Thursday afternoon, get in around midnight, and be at the con Friday morning. Or afternoon. Whenever I manage to get out of bed.

Then I would have to decide when to leave. If I leave on Sunday, I could be back Sunday night (I think, I don’t really remember what time the trains/busses leave). But, I would probably have to miss most of the events on Sunday in order to catch the bus. Or I could skip work on Monday, and just come back on Monday.

I should point out that when I say “skip work” what I really mean is “squeeze all my hours from that day into another day or two so that I still get 20 hours a week.”

So, if I decide to go, do I want to be able to be there all day Friday or just the evening? Sunday, or just Sunday morning?

And then, of course, I need to figure out whether I actually want to go.

Pros:
1. I can see Myriad.
2. Steampunk convention!! Whoo!!
3. …I can see Myriad?

Cons:
1. Depending on the day I arrive/leave, I would have to miss work/class. (But I can reschedule my work and I hate that class anyway, so I guess this point is moot.)
2. It would cost me money.
3. It would cost me time when I should probably be doing homework and stuff like that.

The money thing is kinda important. First off, I’d have to pay for transportation to and from the convention. I’m too lazy to look it up right now, but it’s a lot. Then, I could either volunteer for 10 hours and get in free, OR I could pay another $50 to register for the event. I’m not sure if I would want to volunteer. Then there’s food and stuff while I’m at the convention, and there will be vendors, so of course I’d want to go shopping … Now, I’m kinda hoping that if I were to stay in Madison I could stay with Myriad … but I would then need transportation of some kind to and from the convention itself. Unless of course Myriad also wanted to go to the convention. Want to go to a convention, Myriad?

I don’t know if I really want to go. Since there is almost nothing on their website in the way of scheduling, I can’t really tell whether there would be events that I’m interested in. So it might be awesome. It might suck. I have no way of knowing.

What should I do?

Published in: on September 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/decisions-decisions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, I’d look at the money issue. The time issue — you’ll be on a bus for forever and can do homework there. If you can stay with Myriad, you’ve got free housing, and I’d volunteer so’s you have free entrance. I had a lot of fun volunteering last time, even though I got sick. But, you had so much fun at the last one, I’d recommend going to this — you’ll be sad you don’t.

    Or, when does registration end? Because they SHOULD have more info on their website by now, with it only two months away… you could wait to see if any big names that you like are going to show up.

    • They have enough volunteers, so I can’t do that.

  2. Oh, and T would like to add that it’s a really cool city and you should check it out. 😛


Leave a Reply

