I need a time machine, STAT!

So, it’s getting to be that time of the year again: it’s almost november. And with november comes nanowrimo. The question is, am I going to write this year?

I’ve started planning out my story. In fact,  I started planning this story out in its most basic form last year. I had an idea, and I thought, that could make a cool story. And then this summer, as I was driving from NY to IL, I started talking it over with myriad just so that I wouldn’t fall asleep at the wheel. We managed to plan out a little bit more, and then I called Dea and got her help a bit too.

Basically, I had this idea of a world, and characters who would have to go on a quest in that world, but I had no idea of what the quest would be. So I got some help on why they would go on this quest, and now my story is basically planned out.

I wanted to do some epic worldbuilding this year, to make sure that everything was perfect. In a way, I did. I started drawing a map of the city, and I have the basic city layout planned, even if I don’t have all of the streets drawn in yet. It’s a big city, give me a break. And then I remembered that they’re only in the city for a little bit at the beginning, and then they leave on their quest, so it didn’t make much sense to spend all that time drawing the map. Especially since I now have it planned out in my head.

I also wanted to write up character bios. I wrote up one, and a couple of the others are thoroughly planned in my head, I just never wrote them down.

And thats my biggest issue, really. I keep having this plans, but im just not writing them down. So in a way i have done all the worldbuilding, just because it is mostly planned in my head, but it’s not written down anywhere.

On a similar note, does anyone know what the layout of an airship would be? Like, a blueprint?

Then of course there is the other issue of school. I have so much work to do in the next couple of weeks. I have to write a 10 page paper by Tuesday, the 1st. I also have an exam then, too. The next week, I have to write another 10 page paper, at least a draft of it. The week after that i need to have a draft of my huge research paper that is just super frustrating and I have no idea what im doing with it. I also have exams coming up. So basically Im booked straight through.

On the other hand, if I didn’t waste so much time sitting around the house and browsing the interwebs, im sure i could be super productive. Maybe if I just write my 1700 words each day, and then stop and go back to working on school stuff … And then when i go to WI for thanksgiving, ive got like 10 hours in transit both ways that I can either type or work on school work or something.

I just wish November wouldnt sneak up on me like this.

Published in: on October 24, 2011 at 10:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/i-need-a-time-machine-stat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

