Deep Dark Secrets

Ok, so I really want to learn ballet. And I’m always afraid to mention it because I’m afraid everyone’s just going to be like “You’re too fat to do ballet!” and then laugh at me. And yeah, it’s true, I’m not exactly ballerina sized. I’m nowhere near ballerina size. But I still want to do it.

I’ve also always wanted to be a cheerleader. No lie.

Anyway, the student rec center here has an intro ballet class. And I’m super tempted. But also super embarassed. On the one hand, it says that the class is ages 12 and up. So I could end up in a class with a bunch of 12 year olds. On the other hand, it is in the rec center, so it’s probably more students? I would hope. It says that it’s intro level, but that doesn’t mean there won’t be people who have actually done ballet before making me look like an idiot. The class is like $100, which is only like $10 a class, and that’s not so bad. But I’m fairly certain you have to pay it all at once. And then it says that there’s an additional costume fee, which is scary cause I don’t want to be in some stupid ballet recital.

See, the thing is, I don’t really want to do basic ballet. I want to learn how to do pointe. But you can’t do pointe until you’ve done the basics. So I want to do intro ballet, and then I guess the intermediate ballet, so that I can get up to pointe. I’ve always wanted to do it. And I’m sure that any ballet teacher I ever meet will tell me that I’m not built to be able to do pointe. But I still want to try.

So on the one hand, I do want to take the class. But I’m like super embarassed to do it. :/ Not sure what to do.

Let’s be honest, I probably won’t take it. But it’s fun to think about.

Published in: on January 15, 2012 at 3:57 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/deep-dark-secrets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I super want to take ballet too. And if you want to be all smug and french about it, you could be like “I want to be en pointe” which is technically what it is. Because you’re IN point, as in your feet are.

    Oh the french.


Leave a Reply

