This novel will kill me before it is through…

Ok, so I haven’t worked on my novel at all since the last time I mentioned it on this blog. My word count is currently at 56,630, and most of it is crap. I insist on being brutally honest with myself. I pretty much suck. But it’s such a good idea, I think, and I’m totally capable of writing well, I just end up rambling and spewing out nonsense.

I vaguely know how I want to end my novel, but I’m not entirely sure how to get there. I’m writing an in-between scene that will get me to an in-between scene which will lead to the end. Which may end rather abruptly, cause I’m not sure how to do that little resolution bit at the end. I’d really rather not have it end as a “and they all lived happily ever after” but it kinda wants to go that way. MUST NOT LISTEN.

I feel like the scene that I’m writing now is completely unnecessary, but at the same time I need it to explain how the character gets to the final scene. I know that I need to cut out a lot and just restart from wherever I left off writing well, but I’m afraid to go backwards.

Dea, Myriad, I may actually have to ask you to read it. I know, it’s crazy, and I’m not done yet, I just really need help from someone. Dea has read all my crappy crappy writing since the very beginning, so at least she would be able to notice that I’ve improved since that story I wrote about the pirate when I was in middle school. (Which I then rewrote much improved for my first nano.) Myraid though … I don’t think you’ve actually read anything of mine. So it’s kinda scary. You might hate it. What if you hate it? I promise not to let it ruin our friendship 😛

Really seriously, though, I need your help. Do you have the time and the desire to read an incomplete novel, tear it to pieces, and tell me what scenes I need to take out of the ending so that I can move on? I will of course give you the basicest (yes, that’s not a word) outline of how the ending should happen, so you can tell what will be necessary to keep and what is completely superfluous shit that needs to be eradicated immediately. It’s currently 90 pages long. Let me know, please!!

On a completely unrelated note, I have come to the conclusion that this blog is basically just a diary addressed to you two, cause I think you’re the only ones who read it. Of course, I don’t put any tags on any of my posts, so I’m sure that’s not helping …

Published in: on January 19, 2012 at 11:49 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/this-novel-will-kill-me-before-it-is-through/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ha, that’s like how my blog is addressed to THREE people. You, Francesca and Rimi.

    But yeah. I can totes do that. My only other projects at the moment are playing with a cool musical notation system. So I’ve got plenty of free time… at least for a bit. I don’t expect my workload to be crazy when school starts next Monday, but I also don’t think you expect me to crank out editing in short order.

    So send it along! Figure out your outline before sending it, send it as a separate doc I think, rather than putting it in the body of an email.

  2. Although, OMG talking about your past writing has now got “Here I Am Lost in a Valley” stuck in my head. /me stabs self

  3. Hi… I just stumbled on your blog just now while reading the Freshly Pressed under ‘writing’ So I guess they are not the only one reading your page. I’m glad I found it because honestly you are not alone in feeling this way about your work.. I’m completely new at this myself and frankly my writing is…Ok. But I’m trying. I just finished National Novel Writing Month. We all had to write a 50,000 word novel in 1 month. We’ll I didn’t make it and after I get through editing… Editing and editing again. I know my 30,000 some-odd words will reduce down to a fee thousand.. I guess the point is to try. That’s what you are doing . Keep it up! Its great you have people you trust to read your work.. I do too. She is my gate keeper before I even share anything in the outside world. LOL!

    If you stop by my Blog check out my post:
    ‘I wonder what people think when they write’
    And
    ‘Not quite a loser’
    Hope they help a bit.. Thanks for sharing your post, and good luck!!

  4. Hey, you’re reading & editing ‘Earth Girl in Space’ once I finish it, whether you like it or not. I hereby give you full permission to force any and all literary aspirations upon me.

    And if it makes you feel better, I think my blog is basically a diary directed at you, with occasional forays into knitterliness.


Leave a Reply

