Goals

So I have some goals, a sort of timeline for the rest of the year.

By August 15th, I would like to have a finished draft of my novel. Hopefully, it will be done even earlier.

At that point, I will send it out to beta readers. Dea and Myriad, this means you. Hopefully it won’t take you too long to read it. Now, Dea is going to be busy, I know, and then school is going to start back up, but I would like to get comments back as soon as possible.

Then, I will edit it. And edit it. And edit it. And I may send more snippets back to my betas … (betai? it is greek…) and then when I hear back from the βήται I’ll edit even more.

My main goal is to have a good solid manuscript by the end of the year. And then, I’m going to start querying.

So, while my βήται are reading and making snarky comments in the margins (which I do hope they do), I will still be working.

First, I need to write a query letter. Now, since I intend to adjust the letter for each agent that I send it to, the main part that I’ll have to focus on then is the book description, the opening that will hopefully grab their attention.

Then, I need to do some major research into which agents I want to query. Depending on how long it takes to hear back from my βήται and in between editing and things like that, I’ll probably do some agent-y research in September, and then do more right before I start submitting, to make sure that no one’s guidelines have changed and to check that I didn’t miss any new agents.

So October will hopefully be editing. Hopefully at least one βήτα will have gotten back to me by then (that’ll be like a month and a half, and I’ve only got like what, 80K words right now?). If you haven’t gotten back to me by then … doom on you. (cue the dodo birds from Ice Age.)

November will be nanowrimo. I think. I may decide that it would be better for me to just hold off and finish up the novel that I’ve got. But I do love nano, so I’ll probably give it a shot. Came up with an awesome idea for some characters while on a lovely jetski ride with Myriad. Of course, I don’t really have  a plot for those characters, but who needs a plot? (I’m kidding guys, really.)

December will be finishing up my manuscript. Hopefully I can get some querys … queries? … queries sent out before the new year. (At times like this, I realize that I should just go back and delete the typo, but … nah.)

Of course, I will be taking two seminars and a class and sitting in on another class and working 20 hours a week, so this may not work out quite as well as I hope. But I’m gonna try to keep to my schedule. I swear!

Then of course, I’m sure all of January and February will be querying and waiting to hear back. March too. I don’t expect my first novel to be picked up right away. But wouldn’t that be AWESOME?

Anyway. Then we roll around to April, which is Script Frenzy. As Myriad knows, I’ll be writing the script for a musical based on the music of Jeffery Straker (like how Mamma Mia is ABBA music). I’ve basically got it all planned out, I just need to come up with a good ending. His new album comes out this fall, hopefully there will be the PERFECT song to tie up my musical. And if not, well … whatever it’ll be more Jeffery Straker music so all will be well.

So here’s my basic writing timeline for the next … few months … 9 months. That’s a long time. And a lot to get done!

Let me know what you think!

And βήται, get ready.

Published in: on July 23, 2012 at 1:11 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latinkilledtheromans.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/goals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow, ambitious! I need to work out a goal timeline of my own… And I am happy to be your beta 🙂


Leave a Reply

